Introduction to Guyana

Introduction to Guyana

Guyana, located on the northern  mainland of South America, was originally a Dutch colony, before becoming part of the British Empire in 1815.

The country gained independence from the UK in 1966 and has a diverse ethno cultural population as a result of its history. The population is multi-cultural comprises of people from Indian, African, European, Asian and other cultural backgrounds including an indigenous population. Guyana has an approximate population of 735,000. 

The capital of Guyana is Georgetown, located on the north east of the country on the Atlantic Ocean. Guyana borders with Venezuela, Suriname and Brazil. Guyana is the only English-speaking country in South America and shares cultural and historical bonds with the Anglophone Caribbean.

The Guyanese economy has grown steadily in the past 10 years with a mean average GDP growth rate of 4.2% year on year. The current economy is dependent on six commodities: Sugar; Gold; Bauxite; Shrimp;Timber; and Rice. These commodities make up over 60% of the country’s GDP. 

Current contribution to GDP of the Energy sector in country is negligible.